The Dance Theatre of Harlem School



The Dance Theatre of Harlem School (DTHS) is a professional studio school with a primary focus on developing well-rounded individuals who are capable of thriving in the competitive field of classical ballet or in the profession of their choice.


DTHS is accredited by the National Association of School of Dance (NASD) and is listed as an institution of higher education by the U.S. Dept. of Education.

DTHS is authorized under Federal law to enroll non-immigrant students within the Professional Training Program and will assist them with an F-1 Visa.


Merit scholarships and need-based tuition assistance is available.


a starter program for children ages 3-8



for students interested in a basic understanding of the rudiments of classical ballet and allied disciplines



a pre-professional training program for students between the ages of 8-18 years of age.


Professional Training program

a three-year program designed for advanced-level aspiring professional dancers.



a challenging exploration of ballet and allied arts, offered during the summer months.



Student Services


The Dance Theatre of Harlem School offers the following additional services to students:

School Faculty 


Aaron Beasley, Adelheid Beatrix Strelick, Allison Deleget, Robert Garland, Christopher Jackson, Andrea Long, Alexandria Myers, Rhiannon Murphy, Kenya Massey-Rodriguez, Ronald Perry, Darryl Quinton, Mariana Ranz, Rachel Sekyi, Leyland Simmons, Lacey Thomas, Augustus Van Heerden.




Svetlana Litvinoff,  Paul Novosel and Rene Ong


Dance Theatre of Harlem

Arthur Mitchell & Karel Shook, Founders
Virginia Johnson, Artistic Director    Sharon Luckman and Anna Glass, Executive Consultants
Kenya Massey-Rodriguez, School Administrator
Ruben Ortiz, Business Affairs Officer
Karen Farnum-Williams, Student Affairs Officer



Everett Center for the Performing Arts

466 West 152nd Street
New York, NY  10031-1814
Phone:  212.690.2800
Fax:      212.690.8736